AMPTrophy 2013



The Coopers AMP

Proudly presents 2013 Winners


Big Scary

The 9th Coopers AMP is proud to announce Big Scary as the winner of the 9th Australian Music Prize for their album ‘Not Art’. Big Scary’s Tom Iansek and Joanna Syme first emerged from Melbourne’s music scene in 2006, and ‘Not Art’ is their second album. Stimulated by the dense production ethic and clipped, sampled nature of hip-hop, the pair took the genre’s distinctive sound and found unique approaches to apply it to their uncluttered pop sensibilities. Joanna Syme said, ‘We’re huge fans of the AMP, and any award that has bands like The Mess Hall and Eddy Current Suppression Ring in its short history of winners has gotta be doing something right. That’s why it’s a huge honour to be awarded this year’s prize.



 Previous winners

2012 Winners : Hermitude  - HyperParadise

HyperParadise is Hermitude hitting the bullseye of their artistic vision, a beautifully inventive record of future beats and electronica. It’s not just their meticulousness in production and musicianship, it’s the passion and love they have for instrumental music that makes them so special. The songs are bubbling with personality: choruses leap out of songs demanding an emotional response, differing for each listener. It wouldn’t be hard to imagine the more notably adventurous R&B/soul vocalists wishing they could get their hands on the likes of ‘All of You’ and ‘HyperParadise’.






Previous winners

2011 Winners : The Jezabels - Prisoner

Prisoner was Entertainment's album of the week during the week of its release. The album won the 2011 Australian Music Prize and was described as "a cocktail of power and elegance, rising like a force to be reckoned with. Dramatic, creative songwriting is delivered with ferocity by commanding front woman Hayley Mary. The Jezabels have firmly cemented their place in the Australian music industry and abroad."

2010 Winners : Cloud Control - Bliss Release


2009 : Lisa Mitchell - Wonder

Lisa's debut EP, Said One To The Other topped iTunes in Australia and this success brought her to the attention of boutique London-based publisher, Little Victories, a subsidiary of Sony/ATV, with whom she signed in 2007. In 2008 Mitchell relocated to the UK where she spent time working on songs for her debut studio album, Wonder. Mitchell finished sixth in the 2006 season of Australian Idol.

2008 : Eddy Current Suppression Ring - Primary Colours

The band formed in 2003 when two brothers Mikey and Danny started jamming at the Christmas party at the Corduroy Records vinyl pressing plant where Mikey worked. They encouraged now-lead singer Brendan Suppression who also worked there, to ad-lib vocals into a tape recorder. The subsequent tape prompted the band's first recording, which produced a 7-inch single with A-side Get Up Morning.

In May 2008, the band released its second CD, Primary Colours. Within three weeks it had sold more than 2,000 copies, already more than their debut album and was sitting at number 6 on the ARIA charts. In September 2008, Primary Colours was nominated in the Best Rock Album category for the 2008 ARIA Awards. In October, it was nominated for the J-Award, as a candidate for the Triple J Australian album of the year. In November 2008, Primary Colours was named Best Independent Hard Rock/Punk Release at the Jägermeister Australian Independent Record (AIR) Awards held at Melbourne's Corner Hotel. In March 2009, the band won the $30,000 Australian Music Prize for Primary Colours. In October 2010, Rush to Relax (2010) was listed in the top 50 in the book, 100 Best Australian Albums.


2007 : The Mess Hall - Devils Elbow

The band often find themselves being compared to The White Stripes but Kurzel expresses otherwise. "When we started to do our thing there was no White Stripes around. A lot of people I'm influenced by are a lot of old poor guys from the Mississippi who just play really honest and a dirty sort of blues. That's where The Mess Hall come from. We really never set out to be a two piece. It was just something that worked out that way".

2006 : Augie March - Moo, You Bloody Choir

Augie March are an Australian indie/pop rock band. Formed in 1996 in Shepparton, Victoria, the band currently consists of vocalist and rhythm guitarist Glenn Richards, lead guitarist Adam Donovan, bassist Edmondo Ammendola, drummer David Williams, and keyboardist Kiernan Box. Box replaced Rob Dawson, the band's initial piano player, who died in 2001.

Augie March's rise to fame was slow; their first two EPs failed to make an impact on the market, despite Waltz being nominated for two ARIA Awards. Their first album, Sunset Studies, was released in 2000. Despite poor sales, it was critically acclaimed and received an ARIA Award nomination. Critics in both Australia and the United States also lauded its 2002 successor, Strange Bird, but it sold and charted poorly in both countries. Augie March's third album, Moo, You Bloody Choir (2006), received a much better reception in terms of sales; its lead single "One Crowded Hour" attained critical acclaim and appeared on the ARIA Charts at number 29, while the album was nominated for numerous ARIA Awards and won an Australian Music Prize. Having achieved mainstream success, the band toured Australia and the United States regularly through 2006 and 2007. In 2008 they released their fourth album, Watch Me Disappear. It became their most commercially successful album, but received the least favourable critical reception.

2005 : The Drones - Wait Long By The River and the Bodies of Your Enemies Will Float By

The Drones are an Australian band that rose to prominence in Australia when in 2005 their album, Wait Long by the River and the Bodies of Your Enemies Will Float By, won the inaugural Australian Music Prize. The band is: Gareth Liddiard (singer and guitarist), Fiona Kitschin (bass guitarist), Dan Luscombe (guitarist) and Michael Noga (drummer).