Friday December 13, 2013


Final Additions to the Longlist Announced!


The 9th Coopers AMP is excited to announce the final list of artists and albums that have made the Longlist for the 2013 Coopers AMP, with the Shortlist announcement to be made on January 26 at Melbourne’s Sidney Myer Music Bowl’s ‘Shortlisted!’ event, and to be followed by the winner announcement in March 2014.


The final ten Longlisted artists and their albums are:

‘You Go Your Way, I'll Go Mine’ by Ainslie Wills

‘Medicated Spirits’ by Dog Trumpet

‘Harvest Of Gold’ by Gossling

‘Open Season’ by High Highs

‘The Cloud Appreciation Society’ by Melanie Horsnell

‘The Loving Gaze’ by Montero

‘Lovegrass’ by Sara Storer

‘Malabar’ by Songs

‘Rookie’ by The Trouble With Templeton

‘World's End Press’ by World’s End Press


This group of ten albums join the already announced list of 33 albums to complete the 9th Coopers AMP Longlist. The announcement follows last week’s inaugural list of 25 Highly Regarded albums; these are albums that the judging panel have deemed worthy of their own recognition. Please see below for the complete list of Longlisted and Highly Regarded albums.


In the lead up to the March announcement of the 9th Coopers AMP winner, who will be awarded $30,000 courtesy of PPCA, Melbourne’s Sidney Myer Music Bowl will play host to the ‘Shortlisted!’ event on Sunday January 26 from 6-8pm. Hermitude will headline the free event where the nine Shortlisted artists will be announced. So come on down!


‘Shortlisted!’ – is being held for the first time at the Sidney Myer Music Bowl as part of the official Australia Day celebrations. There will be live performances at ‘Shortlisted!’ by a select group of other artists, with further announcements to be made in the coming weeks.


Visit our website and Facebook page for exclusive videos featuring interviews with some of the Longlisted artists plus exclusive comments from the judges as to why they liked these albums – listen to all the music through our Spotify player. On our Facebook page exchange comments with us and the Longlisted artists.


The 9th Coopers AMP Longlisted Albums

‘Kiss My Apocalypse’ by Abbe May

‘All Day Venus’ by Adalita

‘You Go Your Way, I'll Go Mine’ by Ainslie Wills

‘She Beats’ by Beaches

‘Not Art’ by Big Scary

‘Familiar Stranger’ by Bob Evans

‘Harlequin Dream’ by Boy & Bear

‘The Wolves’ by Brighter Later

‘Dream Cave’ by Cloud Control

‘The Cold Light Of Day’ by Dialectrix

‘Calendar Days’ by Dick Diver

‘Medicated Spirits’ by Dog Trumpet

‘Flu Season’ by Fluent Form

‘Harvest Of Gold’ by Gossling

‘The Still And The Steep’ by Heath Cullen

‘Open Season’ by High Highs

‘King Amongst Many’ by Horrorshow

‘Howlin’’ by Jagwar Ma

‘In Blood Memory’ by Jen Cloher

‘Phoenix’ by Jimblah

‘Golden’ by Jimmy Tait

‘The Beginning And The End Of Everything’ by Josh Pyke

‘Embracism’ by Kirin J.Callinan

‘Sun, Cloud’ by Luke Howard

‘The Bright Door’ by Machine Translations

‘The Cloud Appreciation Society’ by Melanie Horsnell

‘The Loving Gaze’ by Montero

‘Beloved’ by New Gods

‘Push The Sky Away’ by Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds

‘Step Brothers’ by Palms

‘Conversations With Ghosts’ by Paul Kelly, James Ledger, Genevieve Lacey and ANAMlly

‘Calluses’ by Pikelet

‘Homosapien’ by PVT

‘The Night’s Deeds Are Vapour’ by Ross McLennan

‘I’m A Bird’ by Sam Buckingham

‘Lovegrass’ by Sara Storer

‘Malabar’ by Songs

‘Deleted Scenes’ by Standish/Carlyon

‘Hex Lover Killer’ by The Delta Riggs

‘I See Seaweed’ by The Drones

‘Rookie’ by The Trouble With Templeton

‘Surrender To Victory’ by The Tongue

‘World's End Press’ by World’s End Press


The 9th Coopers AMP Highly Regarded Albums

'The Wallflower' by Alex Hahn & The Blue Riders

'Circus In The Sky' by Bliss N Eso

'The Hypnotiser' by Cash Savage & The Last Drinks

'The Fisherman's Daughter' by Crystal Mercy

'Stories Of Ghosts' by Deborah Conway & Willy Zygier

'Vs. Head Vs. Heart' by Emma Louise

'Western Sun' by The Grapes

'You're A Shadow' by Hungry Kids Of Hungary

'Jinja Safari' by Jinja Safari

‘Float Along - Fill Your Lungs' by King Gizzard & The Wizard Lizard

'Transition' by Major Chord

'Telling Scenes' by Mantra

'The Hurting Scene' by Melody Pool

'My Escape' by Mr. Grevis

'Nola's Ark' by Monique diMattina

'Lamentations' by Ngaiire

'Atlas' by RUFUS

'All Our Wires' by Seja

'Sleep In The Water' by Snakadaktal

'Caress Your Soul' by Sticky Fingers

'Temperate Touch, Tropical Tears' by Stolen Violin

'Second Front' by Suburban Dark

'Dear Departure' by Sweet Jean

'Weekend' by Underground Lovers

'Exotic Goldfish Blues' by Unity Floors



For a full list of Australia Day events in Melbourne visit:

For any further information:

Valerie MacIver, VMPR: / 02 9415 1424

Australia Day: Tracey Hull or Natalie Krug, Department of Premier & Cabinet: or / 03 9651 5174 or 03 9651 1382


 Coopers img